Espace Emeraude undergoes a major and durable overhaul with Market Value and Denelen.

marketvalue · March 01, 2018 · News · 0 comments

Espace Emeraude is a family-owned company specializing in retail of Land and Home products, with close ties to the farming sector ever since its creation in the 1980s. It has 95 retail outlets and generates a turnover of €275 million.

For the past two years, Espace Emeraude has been conducting a complete redesign of its brand positioning with brand consulting firm Denelen and Retail Design agency Market Value (Team Créatif group).

On January 23rd, company executives Christophe and Richard Batardière inaugurated the pilot store in Ponts de Cé, near Angers.

“Our goal is to expand our customer base by attracting the new young country dwellers, to upgrade our image, and to emphasize what sets us apart: fine workmanship and long-lasting equipment. Hence our new tagline: Espace Emeraude, my Land, my Home, for a long time.” (Richard Batardière)

The transformation is indeed spectacular.

One of the most noticeable changes is probably the brand identity.

Market Value suggested giving up the color green, already widely used by competitors, and making a statement by combining the pre-existing sunny yellow with an earthy brown. The word Emeraude is highlighted and, most importantly, the brand boasts a new logo:  the historical “e” is enclosed in a hexagon, that underlines the French rural nature of the brand, and also calls to mind a bolt, a symbol of mechanics (garden machinery) and durability.

This new identity applies to all the brand’s signage and graphic design elements. And particularly to the store front where it finds its fullest expression. The wooden lattice and the canopy’s unique frame convey Espace Emeraude’s farming spirit.

“We have redesigned the indoor layout to showcase a large, one-of-a-kind, and really useful range of products for gardening, garden machinery, home improvement, apparel and farming equipment. The customer journey is interspersed with counters to highlight the store’s services, customer welcome, and comprehensive expertise. These counters also serve the purpose of testing products, such as drills or plant protection products.” (Philippe de Mareilhac, CEO of Market Value)

The new concept showcases services such as equipment rental and an on-site repair shop with dedicated and trained experts.

Digital innovations include Click & Collect near the store entrance and iPads to present the entire range of garden machinery for example.

“Market Value’s design fits in perfectly with the brand’s deep overhaul, but all the while retains the authenticity of Espace Emeraude. It is also a very practical design in terms of investment, as it focuses on powerful symbolic markers while keeping a lot of the existing store furniture. It’s a vision of sustainable design that is perfectly in line with our brand DNA.” (Christophe Batardière)

The concept is now ready to be gradually rolled out across all retail outlets. A second pilot store will open in Montaigu at the end of March on a more compact Park & Garden layout.

The brand is now geared up to develop its different vision of the business, namely the retail of tools and solutions to improve your Land and your Home for a long time.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Espace Emeraude se transforme avec Market Value et Denelen, pour longtemps.

marketvalue · mars 01, 2018 · Actualités · 0 comments

Créé dans les années 80, Espace Emeraude est une groupe familial de distribution de produits de la Terre et la Maison, historiquement lié au monde agricole, comptant 95 magasins pour un CA de 275 M€.

Depuis deux ans, Espace Emeraude a mené une refonte complète de son positionnement avec le cabinet de conseil par la marque Denelen, et l’agence de Retail Design Market Value (groupe Team Créatif).

Et le 23 janvier, les dirigeants Christophe et Richard Batardière ont inauguré à Ponts de Cé, à côté d’Angers, le magasin pilote.

« Notre objectif était d’élargir notre clientèle avec les jeunes arrivants en campagne et les néo-ruraux, moderniser notre image et affirmer notre différence, celle du travail bien fait et du matériel qui dure. D’où notre nouvelle signature : Espace Emeraude, ma Terre, ma Maison, pour longtemps. » (Richard Batardière).

La transformation est en effet spectaculaire.

A commencer par l’identité !

Market Value a proposé d’abandonner le vert très présent chez les concurrents, pour se différencier avec un jaune solaire (déjà présent dans la marque) associé au brun de la Terre. Le mot Emeraude est mis en avant, et surtout la marque a un nouveau symbole : son « e » historique, inscrit dans un hexagone pour affirmer la dimension française et terroir de l’enseigne, hexagone qui fait aussi penser à un boulon, synonyme de mécanique (motoculture) et de durabilité.

Cette identité est déclinée sur toute la signalétique et le territoire graphique de la marque. Et notamment la façade où elle prend toute sa force. La claire-voie en bois et l’auvent à l’ossature très singulière de l’auvent, affirmant l’esprit Farmer d’Espace Emeraude.

« A l’intérieur, nous avons repensé le plan. Il permet de découvrir la richesse d’une offre unique – vraiment utile – pour le jardin, la motoculture, le bricolage, l’habillement et le matériel agricole. Le parcours client est rythmé par des comptoirs pour valoriser les services, l’accueil et l’expertise pointue des hommes. Ils serviront aussi pour tester les produits comme les perceuses ou les produits phyto» (Philippe de Mareilhac, DG de Market Value).

Parmi les services, le nouveau concept met en avant la location de matériel, et l’atelier qui répare sur place grâce à des experts dédiés et formés.

Le digital est présent avec le Clique & Collecte dès l’entrée, et des iPad pour présenter l’ensemble de l’offre en motoculture par exemple.

« Avec son design, Market Value a incarné le virage en profondeur que nous faisons faire à l’enseigne tout en conservant l’authenticité d’Espace Emeraude. C’est aussi un design très pragmatique en termes d’investissement, qui se concentre sur des marqueurs puissants et emblématiques, tout en conservant une part importante du mobilier existant. C’est finalement une approche du design durable, cohérente avec notre ADN » (Christophe Batardière).

Le concept est maintenant prêt pour être déployé progressivement sur l’ensemble du parc. Un deuxième pilote ouvre à Montaigu fin mars sur un format Parc & Jardin, plus compact.

L’enseigne est dorénavant en ordre de marche pour développer sa vision différente du métier, à savoir celle d’un commerce d’outils et de solutions permettant de valoriser sa Terre et sa Maison pour longtemps.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.